Please reload

Recent Posts

Mechanic's Liens & South Carolina Residential Builders

October 1, 2015

1/3
Please reload

Featured Posts

Holiday DUIs in South Carolina

December 8, 2016

 

The month of December is full of celebration with many holidays, events, and parties. Many South Carolinians will either host or attend holiday parties this season. A recent survey showed that the average American will attend 2.7 holiday parties this year, with 18-34 year olds attending as many as five parties this season on average. At many of these events food and alcohol will be plentiful, so it is very important not to overindulge. In South Carolina the rate of 21-34 year olds who die from drunk driving related accidents is nearly double the national average. Driving after drinking at a holiday party could have serious consequences for you, your family and other drivers on the road. Driving after drinking can lead to criminal convictions and potentially be the cause of injuries on the road. Please be safe this holiday season when it comes to drinking and driving.

 

The Economic Costs of a DUI in South Carolina

 

It is illegal to drive in South Carolina with a blood alcohol content of over .08. While each person differs in terms of body composition, it takes very little alcohol for an individual to reach the legal limit. DUI offenses differ for different types of drivers in South Carolina. Commercial drivers and drivers less than 21 years of age have even stricter BAC restrictions, but all DUIs come with costs. DUI fines alone, not to mention legal costs, can quickly add up, especially if you have had more than one intoxicated driving offense. The potential fines for DUIs in South Carolina are listed below:

 

  • First Offense: A minimum of 48 hours in jail and a minimum fine of $400

  • Second Offense: A minimum of five days in jail and a minimum fine of $2,100

  • Third Offense: A minimum of 60 days in jail and a minimum fine of $3,800

  • Fourth or Subsequent Offense: Between one and seven years in prison

 

These fines are minimums, meaning that they may increase depending on aggravating factors in your case, such as refusing to submit to a breath test, driving recklessly, or previous intoxicated driving offenses.

 

The Other Costs of a DUI in South Carolina

 

In addition to legal costs and penalties, DUIs can have major social costs, including stigma at work and the loss of your driver’s license. They can impact your family life, social life and relationships. Additionally, if your drunk driving causes an accident that causes personal injury or death, you will likely also have to face not only criminal penalties for the DUI but also a civil lawsuit for monetary damages.

 

Get Helped from an Aiken, SC DUI Lawyer

 

This holiday season, if you are involved in an accident with an intoxicated driver or you are charged with a DUI, the lawyers at Surasky Law can help. Our team can help you get the compensation you deserve to help you get back on track.

 

Contact us today for a free consultation on your case.

 

 

Please reload

Follow Us
Please reload

Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square